top of page

The Links, Incorporated is an international, not-for-profit corporation, established in 1946. The membership consists of nearly 14,000 professional women of color in 281 chapters located in 41 states, the District of Columbia and the Commonwealth of the Bahamas.

It is one of the nation’s oldest and largest volunteer service organizations of extraordinary women who are committed to enriching, sustaining and ensuring the culture and economic survival of African Americans and other persons of African ancestry.


The members of The Links, Incorporated are influential decision makers and opinion leaders.The Links, Inc. has attracted many distinguished women who are individual achievers and have made a difference in their communities and the world. They are business and civic leaders, role models, mentors, activists and volunteers who work towards a common vision by engaging like-minded organizations and individuals for partnership.


Links members contribute more than 500,000 documented hours of community service annually – strengthening their communities and enhancing the nation. The organization is the recipient of awards from the UN Association of New York and the Leon H. Sullivan Foundation for its premier programs. For more information visit:


Our Current Officers

Jamie Allen, President

Alissia Canady, Vice President

Lori Forte, Treasurer

Marquita Miller Joshua, Financial Secretary

Susan Wilson, Corresponding Secretary

Teresa Wesley, Chaplain

Judith Campbell, Sergeant at Arms

Dr. Nicole Price, Immediate Past President

Our History

The Jackson County (MO) Chapter of The Links, Inc. was established under the authority of The Links, Incorporated, an international service organization founded on Nov. 9, 1946, by Mrs. Sarah S. Scott and Mrs. Margaret R. Hawkins in Philadelphia, Pennylvania.

After years of nurturing friendship and developing rewarding community programming, the Jackson County (MO) Chapter of The Links, Incorporated was chartered on July 25, 1981 by the 7th National President, Dr. Julia B. Purnell. 


Inez Y. Kaiser, Chapter Organizer, formed an interest group comprised of outstanding women from the Kansas City area to charter the chapter. Included in this distinguished group of 21 ladies were:


Georgia Buchanan

Fredricka Gant

Brenda Roulhac

Mary Lynn Clark

Lucy Livingston

Evelyn Powell

Elaine Shumate

Mamie Maye

Lester Glass

Carolyn Kaiser


Joyce Atkins

Pamela Eason

Cynthia Holt

Myrtle John Anderson

Paulette Massey

Margaret Scott

Carrie Stapleton

Jacque Thompson

Geneva Thompson

Joyce Stevenson

Our Past Presidents

Inez Kaiser 

Georgia Buchanan

Mamie Maye 

Doris Threatt 

Donna Nelms 

Carolyn Kaiser 

Cheryl Anderson 

Freda Crompton

Lorene James 

Delores Maxwell











Debby Ballard

S. Marie McCarther Tamara Clark Sykes 

Melonie Davis Jones 

Stephanie Byers

Marion Spence Pierson

Tamara Clark Sykes

Stephanie Byers

Nicole Price

Jamie Allen











link inez-2009_edited_edited_edited.png
bottom of page